Welcome to DGNHAS

Welcome to the new version of the DGNHAS website, which is more accessible using mobile devices and more easily maintained than the earlier version.

All the content of the earlier version is available here, possibly in a new form and accessed in a different way. The main difference is in searching the website and gaining information on the contents of the online Transactions using TDGNHAS index cards. See the Searching page for more information.

General feedback and information on errors or omissions are welcome. Please e-mail the webmaster using the link on the Contacts page.

Meeting on 25 January 2018

Please note that the meeting on 25 January 2019 is to be given by the retired neurosurgeon. Dr Jeremy Ganz, who will speak on The Life and Contributions of James Hill, Surgeon in Dumfries, which is different from that given on the printed programme card circulated to members at the beginning of this year's session. The meetings for 5 October and 25 January were swapped shortly after the card was printed.


2019 Rhind Lectures

2019 Rhind Lectures
Organised and hosted by the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland

10 – 12 May 2019, NMS auditorium, Edinburgh, EH1 1JF
Hadrian’s Wall: A Study in Archaeological Exploration and Interpretation
Professor David Breeze

NMS Auditorium, Edinburgh, EH1 1JF
10–12 May 2019

The Pilgrimage of Hadrian's Wall 2019

The next Pilgrimage will run from 20 to 28 July 2019, the first 4 days being based in Newcastle and the remainder in Carlisle. The Wall will be visited from South Shields on the North Sea to Maryport on the Solway. Pilgrims will travel in coaches between sites but there will be plenty of walking. The main themes of the tours will be the evidence for the building of the Wall and its later history in the third and fourth centuries. Eight experts in Hadrian's Wall will undertake the guiding.

Newcastle to Carlisle
20 to 28 July 2019

Truckell Prize 2017

The 2017 Truckell Prize, awarded annually by the Society, was won by Alistair Livingston of Castle Douglas, the well-known local historian. Alistair came to the Society's lecture meeting in Castle Douglas Parish Church Hall on Saturday, 24 March 2018, to receive the award. The Society's President, Dr Jeremy Brock, presented Alistair with the award before the start of the meeting, which was attended by an audience of 50 members and guests.